How long does a child have to be rear facing in Michigan?

What age Can child legally sit in front seat in Michigan?

According to Michigan law, children who are between the ages of 4 and 8 may ride in the front, providing they are in the proper car or booster seat for their age and height. Children who are at least 8 years old or at least 4′ 9″ inches tall may ride in the front seat of a car.

How long do kids need to be in a car seat?

All children whose weight or height exceeds the forward-facing limit for their car safety seat should use a belt-positioning booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they have reached 4 feet 9 inches in height and are 8 to 12 years of age.

How much should a baby weigh to face forward in 2021?

While 1 year and 20 pounds used to be the standard for when to flip car seats around, most experts now recommend using rear-facing child seats until children are 2 years old and reach the top weight and height recommendations of the car seat manufacturer, which is typically around 30 pounds and 36 inches.

Should a 4 year old be rear-facing?

Under the new guidelines, most kids would keep using rear-facing seats until they’re about 4 years old. … “Even if their children’s legs are longer than the car seat, they can easily fold their legs up into the car seat and it’s actually much safer for their legs,” she said.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I keep my baby upright while breastfeeding?

Can my 9 year old sit in the front seat?

The Federal Traffic Law indicates that safety seats are mandatory for children under the age of four. As per the Federal Traffic laws Article 49, front seat passengers should also be at least 145cm tall and not younger than 10 years old.